Real Food. Real Stories. Oh Yeah.

Cauliflower Home Fries

Fire up the skillet – it’s time for some home fries!

Cauliflower Home Fries

Cauliflower is often overshadowed by the similar-looking broccoli, but I’ve grown to love this little white vegetable. It has a crisp bite, a delicately sweet flavor, and is versatile when it comes to cooking. Plus, like many vegetables, it may help protect folks from cancer and is a great source of Vitamin C, Vitamin K, and omega-3’s. What’s not to love?

Another great thing about cauliflower is that it lends itself to many potato dishes, due to it’s white color and relatively neutral flavor. I love potatoes, but sometimes I want potato goodness without the heft and starch that often accompanies potato dishes. I’ve seen (and made) mashed cauliflower before with good results. So I thought, why not use cauliflower to make home fries?

To me, a good plate of home fries will have a great garlic flavor. I started by finely mincing two cloves of garlic, then stirring them into some olive oil and allowing the mixture to sit for a bit, letting the flavors meld. If you have a garlic press, use this tool; I have a plate that minces garlic in this manner. While the garlic and oil sat, I chopped my cauliflower. Rather than breaking off small florets, I took big chunks of cauliflower and sliced them horizontally, so that some pieces were more like home fry potato discs – not an exact replica, but you get the idea.

Sliced cauliflower coins next to a big cauliflower "potato"

From here it’s really easy. I placed both the oil and garlic into a skillet and heated it on medium. Once ready, I added the cauliflower, stirring it well with the oil to really get it coated, especially with the garlic. I then threw in some salt, cumin, black pepper, and cayenne. I cooked the cauliflower for about 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking. Cooking for a long while lets the spices soak in and softens the cauliflower, but it won’t get mushy or soggy during this length of time. Some pieces might burn a bit, but that’s okay! Personally I like my home fries crispy.

This is great for brunch or lunch, especially with a tofu scramble. Now, how can I convert cauliflower into hash browns?

Cauliflower Home Fries (Serves 1-2)

2 cloves garlic, pressed or finely minced

1 TB olive oil

2 cups cauliflower florets

Salt, pepper, cumin, and cayenne, to taste

Stir the pressed garlic into the olive oil and allow to sit for awhile to let the flavors blend. Slice the cauliflower into horizontal coins.

Heat the oil and garlic in a skillet on medium. Add the cauliflower, and stir for a minute or two, covering the cauliflower with the oil and garlic. Add the spices, then cook for 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Serve hot.

Comments on: "Cauliflower Home Fries" (1)

  1. Mommalama said:

    *slurp* 🙂

Leave a Reply

